lukeandmanda

The most amazing love story since Romeo and Juliet haha

Easter Reflections; My God Is….ALIVE!

Easter-Quotes-1

This is a blog that mostly centers around love (human love between a husband and wife), and our life together as we know it. But, as Easter approaches, it is a fantastic opportunity to consider our First Love, our Maker and Savior, in all of His glory and power. It amazes me that he created each of us, his unique Sons and Daughters, and all of the beauty that surrounds us in the world– every treetop, every river, every canyon is the work of His Hands.

Not only did He create each of us us in His own image, but He offered the ultimate gift for all of us though none is deserving–Eternal Life with Him in Heaven. I do not have a child yet, but I truly could not fathom sending my one and only Son to sacrifice His life to bear the brunt of the world’s sins just so that others could have a chance to live forever in the Kingdom of Heaven. What incredible love God has for all of us; it is absolutely incomprehensible to mere human intelligence.

This post is about God, and the things He has done in my life lately and in the lives of others (things I have personally witnessed and felt in my heart). I am not a great theologian or preacher but rather a young wife, daughter, Daughter, sister, employee and friend trying to find my way in the world. I will tell you right now I could not do any of it without the Love of my Savior and Lord.

God opens doors that seem permanently closed; He paves a pathway through what appears to be the thickest of forests and around each bend and curve, His perfect plans are revealed, one by one.

Have you ever been in a situation that seemed impossible–like nothing or no one could possibly do anything to change it for the better? Have you felt beaten down, discouraged and hopeless? A worthless sinner who is not making any real impact in the world around you? When I feel this way, I have learned to take it straight to God, who fills my heart with the most perfect peace; my worries are not His worries. His ways are not my ways. I, a weak human, can take my worries to the Almighty, who loves me enough to carry my burden, the One who knows the number of hairs on my head and the number of days, hours and minutes in my life.

From personal experience, I know that Nothing is too small or too burdensome for Him. It’s true: Jesus Christ wants a personal relationship with you, to walk with you and talk with you through all of life’s mountains and valleys!

Less than a month ago, the Lord took hold of one of mine and Luke’s greatest trials and transformed our lives remarkably. Where one door had forever closed to us, Jesus opened a window instead, providing us with a brand new start, a chance at redemption. This opportunity was God’s grace personified. How great is our God to provide such a chance, such an opportunity, even in a circumstance when we felt so lost and uncertain and hopeless?

Our faith was again strengthened. We were in a far better place than before, and we consciously praised Him and worshiped Him vehemently for his graciousness. But, a few days later, the daily grind took over again, and our prayer lives went back to the status quo–while we always loved Jesus, we didn’t celebrate with Him daily.

However, today, the God of Miracles showed me His strength and goodness yet again, and I cannot stop rejoicing in both my thoughts and my words. I immediately called my husband and two friends to share with them my Good News. Let me correct that–God’s Good News. And now, when I want to shout it from the rooftops, I find myself here to share with you, too.

There was a situation that my husband and I had been jointly discussing and praying over for several days now; despite all of our pondering, it just seemed hopeless. We considered every possible angle that we could fathom to offer our assistance and possibly transform this situation, but there was no way out–literally nothing we could do but stand by and wait for the inevitable to come crashing down. I wept for the person who would be impacted the most, a person I barely even know but still have extreme mercy and compassion for. I had no power to alleviate or change the circumstances though, and so I did the only thing I could feasibly do–bow my head, close my eyes, and beg God for a solution, a change, a chance. If I am really honest though, in my heart of hearts, I still did not see any possible way for a change. I was “going through the motions,” begging God for something that I (in my limited understanding), deemed impossible. But then, God showed up.

The situation turned 180 degrees at the last possible moment, and with it an opportunity to shine my light and make a difference, a God-given chance for me, Amanda Bradshaw, to make an impact, even for just a short while. None of us is guaranteed tomorrow, so I am taking this opportunity for what it is and will do my absolute best to create real, lasting change for this individual. I have the chance to Love, and Love I will, for the greatest commandments in the Bible require of us only this: first to Love the Lord your God, with all your heart, all your mind and all your soul, and secondly to Love Your Neighbor as Yourself.

If you ever hunted Easter eggs as a child, you may remember that excited, frantic dash to find the golden egg–the one that contains a better prize than all the others. Sometimes, it was right in front of your face, but you simply missed it in your excitement. Jesus is our Golden Egg, the seemingly elusive Miracle Worker that has been there all along but it sometimes hard to see when we focus on our thoughts, our desires and our solutions rather than His, on our Path instead of His and on our own understanding versus trusting His.

It is easy to get wrapped up in the things of the world and forget that He is the transformer of hearts, the Light that overshadows the Darkness, the Lord of both the Heavens and the Earth. Today, I was again reminded of this Truth, and I feel renewed and joyous. I want to shine my light so that people will see the love of Jesus in my heart and glorify Him. Every bit of love or grace I am able to share with those around me comes straight from Him–the King of Kings who has the compassion and mercy to forgive me, even during those times when I least deserve it. He is the One who makes a Way when there is no visible Way and the Answerer of Prayers.

I could not wait another moment to spread this word today….My God is Alive. He is here, waiting for anyone who is willing to trust in Him and choose eternal life over a life of darkness and damnation. All you have to do is ask, and turn away from a You-centered life and instead choose a Christ-centered life. He Lives, so that we can face tomorrow.

 My God is a God of change, a God of transformation, a God of Hope. He can make your marriage loving, your friendships strong and meaningful, your employment worthwhile and your own personal contentment level at an all-time high. It is not that He always changes your negative circumstances into positive; sometimes He lets us endure trials of many kinds so that we can learn through them and draw closer to Him in the process. This is a tough one, but again, our understanding is not His understanding, and our ways are not His ways. Through the flames, iron is forged.

In so many ways, I find my life unremarkable, and in actuality it is, according to the Truth found in the Bible. I am merely a mist, that like the thick fog on a damp morning, appears for but a moment before vanishing. I am a seashell, waiting on the beach for the tide of Death to sweep me up at any moment and whisk me away without warning. This may seem morbid, but I was reminded multiple times this week that Time is precious, and while I have no great power or influence, I have one great calling in this world that I know of, and that is to write.  I write in my profession and in my graduate studies. I write in diaries and journals and on the beginnings of novels, but I have not often written publicly about my love affair with Jesus. But, in actuality, that is the only writing that matters, the only writing that will last and transcend the text on the page to initiate change; this writing is a matter of the heart rather than of the mind. It is fact rather than fiction and can serve as a hope to the hopeless, if God so wills it.

I hope to use this forum to touch as many people as I can for as long as I can in hopes that someone will read this blog and see Jesus, our Creator and Savior, through my less-than-eloquent words. I am the vessel for the God who is Risen, the God who is here to love you, too, with an unparalleled, unconditional, unwavering love.

I have chosen to forever worship Him, to have Everlasting Life with Him, when the ultimate victory is won. Have you? If you have not, He is there, waiting for you, calling for you, His Son or Daughter whom He loves with singular purpose. You simply have to Ask.

John 3:16 

16 For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have everlasting life. 17 For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved.

Romans 10:9-10

That if you confess with your mouth, “Jesus is Lord,” and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.
10 For it is with your heart that you believe and are justified, and it is with your mouth that you confess and are saved.

Revelation 22:17

17 The Spirit and the bride say, “Come!” And let him who hears say, “Come!” Whoever is thirsty, let him come; and whoever wishes, let him take the free gift of the water of life.

If you are reading this and would like more information on Salvation, please provide your email address in the comments below. I will be happy to help in any way that I can. If you do not have a Bible and would like a copy of the Word of God, I will mail one to you, wherever you are, if you simply provide me with your mailing address via email at: amanda.s.bradshaw@gmail.com.

Best wishes for a Happy Easter!

Amanda

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

