lukeandmanda

The most amazing love story since Romeo and Juliet haha

18 days and counting!

Well, we have entered the teens in our latest countdown until Fall Break/Columbus Day, when I will travel to Lawton to visit Luke for three days and four nights! A lot has been happening as the days go by though.

I have been buried in homework and extracurricular responsibilities as  school has really entered full swing. I have a test and presentation due this week, and I am leaving for Fort Lauderdale on Thursday to attend the National Convention for The Society of Professional Journalists, since I am president of the UA student chapter. Today, I spent a couple of hours in Barnes & Noble poring over travel magazines and guidebooks about Spain, since we will be heading there in a few short months to compose the fifth edition of Alpine Living. I could not be more excited about this amazing opportunity, and I am enjoying every bit of the research so far.

I am also trying to make lots of time for my friends, since it is senior year and all — possibly our last chance to all be together for a while. I am making an effort to attend every home football game, despite a less-than-desirable home season and am really enjoying the fact that I attend the nation’s best school for college football. 3 national championships in 4 years of college? Yes, please. I fully believe The Crimson Tide is fighting its way to #15 and am so proud to be an Alabama student.

My good friend, Laura Metcalf, and I before the Western Kentucky game

I ran into my friends Lauren Killen and Rachael Jones on our way into the stadium!

4th Quarter! The game was a complete shut out.

I also joined a girls’ Bible study group that meets on Thursday nights. My good friend Rachel Childers leads the study, and it is such a pleasure to become immersed in God’s word with these amazing ladies. All-in-all, school is going pretty well, and I only have the slightest hint of senioritis thus far. I could do without the four-hour weekly science class on Wednesdays, but I think I will tough it out since I truly need these credits to graduate in May.

Meanwhile, Luke is enjoying his time in Lawton immensely…(This is sarcasm in case you didn’t catch it.) He has another major test tomorrow, so right now, he is helping tutor some of his classmates in hopes that they will all pass and not get into trouble. On a positive note, his dad visited this past weekend because Luke’s brother, Jacob, graduated from basic training from Sill on Friday. I think they had a fun guys’ weekend and watched plenty of sports and ate lots and lots of wings. It was good for the boys to spend time with their dad because they don’t see him all that much since everyone is so spread out now.

We have a web cam date scheduled later tonight, which I am pretty excited about since we haven’t talked all that much lately with our busy schedules. It is really nice to just have 18 days left on this countdown though!

I realize this is an exceptionally boring update, but I try to write at least once a week and after reflecting on our week, I guess not a lot has happened after all. But, boring is good sometimes.  In my opinion, it beats tragedy and chaos any day! One thing we have learned after being together for more than 2 years, is that everything isn’t going to be exciting every single day. Since we know a lot about each other now, conversations are sometimes going to be less riveting than they were when we first met. And that’s OK.  I am truly enjoying this stage of our relationship too, which comes with a certain amount of consistency and stability. Life may not be the whirlwind it once was (and yes, I still miss jetting off to New York on random weekends to visit West Point), but I am content with where we are now too.

So, for today, I will end with a sweet poem that I found online about love and overcoming the obstacle of long distance, which I know we are doing each and every day. It is encouraging to think that each day that passes brings us one more day closer to being together again.

I Love You True

I love you true
No matter the miles in queue
Nothing can split us two
Even if our times together are few.

I love you true
No one else in this world will do
Though you are not in view
In my mind there’s only you.

I love you true
I want you to know it too
So together we can make it through
To look back one day and see how time flew.

-Author Unknown

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

