lukeandmanda

The most amazing love story since Romeo and Juliet haha

Waiting, wishing, studying…Is it August 9th yet?!

I miss my boyfriend. And I miss the beach. Which do I miss more? That’s debatable! (haha just kidding.) Some days, I’d really like to go back to June, when Luke and I took a trip to Gulf Shores with two of our best friends, Will and Jessica. Here are a few pictures from that trip:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Anyway, since time travel isn’t a possibility, I have to be content with the fact that Luke and I only have 11 more days until I am Lawton-bound! Thank goodness. We are starting to get into the part of the countdown where it gets easier, since we are on the downhill slope of 35 days spent apart! And, let me tell you, the days have honestly flown by sometimes since I have had plenty to keep me occupied in the meantime. My dark, handsome, largely unpopular GRE study book has been keeping me company every day.

Well, it’s the Sunday before test-time, and I still don’t feel as if I am prepared enough. SO for the next few days, enter GRE Study Manual Overload. Joy. But every girl’s gotta procrastinate take a short break every once in a while. Hence, this blog post!
Luke and I have been doing pretty well, despite a few small “discussions” when we were both either tired or cranky after long days at work and annoyed with spending time far apart like this again. Nothing major, though. We have adjusted back to long distance pretty well, which is a blessing, I suppose, since we are still living hundreds of miles apart for a few more months. By the time we see each other again, he will be 1/5 of the way done with BOLC though, which is pretty encouraging, when you consider that after Fort Sill, Oklahoma comes Fort Benning, Georgia! I cannot wait to start that chapter in our lives. Bye bye expensive flights, monthly airport reunions and saying goodbye; hello driving distance! OK, not so fast.
BOLC has been an interesting adventure so far, to say the least. I was really comforted when Luke and his roommate, Matt, felt the need to go to a gun show their first weekend in Lawton to pick up some more ammo and guns because of Sill’s notorious “crime rate.” Umm, what?? Lol. Apparently, many 2Lts have personal belongings stolen from their apartments out there! They are all stocked up now though, so any would-be thieves will hopefully stay far, far away.

We have managed to fit in a few web cam dates since Luke has been in Lawton, and we still talk on the phone every single night, although we both have been pretty busy with our jobs. I love that Luke never fails to wake me up with a sweet text message each morning, and that man says the sweetest things! He does a wonderful job of making me feel loved and appreciated, even from so far away. We try to make an effort to surprise each other once in a while, and I am happy to report that we have both pulled off successful surprises this month! I ordered and paid for two large pizzas one Monday night and had them delivered to Luke and Matt’s apartment for dinner, and they loved that. Then, today I found that Luke sent me a really sweet card and a package in the mail. It must have come in yesterday, so my parents had it laying on the kitchen table for me when I came home this morning! Such a great way to start my day. :]

Anyway, I think Luke and I are both looking forward to our Sunday night Bible study date tonight. That is always my favorite part of the week, by far. Since I am out of new LukeandManda pictures until I go out West, I am inserting a few of the “classics” from the early days of our relationship and ending this post with one of my favorite quotes.

“True love doesn’t mean being inseparable; it means being separated and nothing changes.”- Unknown

Our first Bama game together, and the first time Luke ever visited me in Tuscaloosa. (Labor Day 2010)

Army-Duke game in Raleigh, NC and Amanda met Luke’s parents for the first time!

The Cheesecake Factory in Birmingham, Ala. where Luke met Manda’s parents for the first time! (And we were running late to meet them; Insert gasp.)

Our first Christmas picture! Manda’s parents house, 2010.

More soon. :]

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

