lukeandmanda

The most amazing love story since Romeo and Juliet haha

It’s almost Christmas!

It’s finally Christmas break, and everything has been extremely busy to say the least, since I last wrote. Luke and I completed our final exams of the semester, and I made A’s in all of my classes, so I was really happy. He won’t find out his grades until he goes back to West Point, since he forgot his computer with the CAC reader in it and cant access the site. Now, it’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas…And we are together at long last ūüôā¬†He arrived in Huntsville Saturday morning, and he is staying with my family until the day after Christmas, and then I am going to visit his in North Carolina for New Years!¬† We scheduled the trips so we only have to spend 2 1/2 days apart over the break, which we are super excited about!¬†On Saturday, we went toLynchburg, TN, with our friends Jessica and Will. We ate at Miss Mary Bo Bo’s Boarding House and took a tour of the Jack Daniels Distillery. Lynchburg is such a quaint little¬†town, and we had a great afternoon just wandering around and stopping in some of the shops.

That evening, we made dinner at my house and just hung out and watched Miracle on 34th Street (which is an awesome Christmas movie, in my opinion!) It was so wonderful just to be together again. On Sunday, we went to church with my mom. Then that night, we all went to see the Living Christmas Tree, an annual musical performance at First Baptist Huntsville, featuring singers that stand inside a Christmas tree covered in 13,000 glowing lights. It was pretty neat.

On Monday morning, I had to start work (unfortunately)¬†at USASMDC in the Public Affairs division. They let me come back for the summers and Christmas break, so I work here Monday-Friday from 8am-4:30p.m. It’s not a bad job at all,¬†and it’s how¬†Luke and I¬†met after all, but I really miss spending the days with him during the precious little time we get to spend¬†together in the same state. We are making the best of it though! He drives me to work in the morning and runs errands or hangs out with my family during the day. He always meets me for lunch and picks me up after work too, which is nice.

We live for the nights when I am off, and we have certainly been making the most of them! We have cooked for my family every night this week, which I really enjoy (and he begrudgingly helps me with haha jk). Monday night was my favorite, I think because we got to set up our Christmas tree at home and decorate the house. We also made fried chicken and mashed potatoes, which is one of my favorite meals. Then we played Spades with my younger brother, Ethan, and his girlfriend, Hannah. Tuesday night we shot basketball for a while with my dad, made spaghetti for dinner, and then played Monopoly with my mom, Ethan and Hannah. And last night, we made tacos and went bowling with Ethan and Hannah.

We have been spending a lot of quality time¬†with my family, so I think everyone is really starting to bond. Tonight we are getting a photo shoot done so we can give his mom the pictures for her Christmas gift. If they turn out well, I will post one on here as well. After the photo shoot, I think we will probably just have a¬†relaxing night and watch a Christmas movie or shoot some pool.¬†And on Friday, he has promised me a date–dinner at the Melting Pot and a movie, I believe. We are going to Bridgestreet in Huntsville, which I’m excited about because that’s where our first date was. Dinner and a movie to be exact, although the dinner was at an Italian restaurant that has since closed. I’m excited about getting a little alone time with him. ūüôā¬†So while things have been super busy, and I am absolutely exhausted at work this morning, it has been a blast. And the break isn’t even halfway over yet! I can’t wait to see what this next week has in store for us. I am finding myself falling in love with him all over again, every single day, and even with work and everything else, I would not change a thing about the holidays so far.

¬†“Love is the greatest refreshment in life.” – Pablo Picasso¬†¬†¬†

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

